Be excited

IMG_1830 I’ve been feeling shy about writing ever since I came home from my time away with my family.  

It’s odd this blogging thing; once you step away you wonder why you would ever come back again, whilst simultaneously wanting to write about ALLTHETHNGS.

Because all the things happened whilst I was taking a break.

The things called rest, and relaxation, reconnection and refreshment.

And in and through it all …. one of my favourite things ever…. reading.

IMG_1928

I found myself practically fizzing with excitement as I read theology and biography, books on church growth and living and community. I was so thirsty. And I drank deeply. I kicked off with ‘Revenge Wears Prada'( just to ease myself into the reading ) , before quickly moving on to Krish Kandiah ‘Paradoxology’,  Maggie Dawn ‘The Accidental Pilgrim’, Sarah Bessey ‘Jesus Feminist’, Amber Haines ‘Wild in the Hollow’, Andy Stanley ‘Deep and Wide’ , Kathy Galloway, ‘Living by the Rule’ and Jean Vannier ‘Finding Peace’ 

IMG_1612

As I read I thought new thoughts and I dreamed big dreams.

I felt my heart’s pull towards those who are on the edges, the fringes.

I became excited by ideas which I could put into practise in my life, to seek the lost and tell them ‘I was lost but now I’m found’.

IMG_1730

I am as sure as I ever have been that without Jesus we are nothing but with Jesus we have everything. I can’t see what else could be more important than being part of the Kingdom of God, and daily taking the chances and opportunities to see it grow and spread.

I want to lavish grace because I have been lavished with grace.

IMG_0823

I’m sure I will write more of these ideas as they begin to bear fruit, but the amazing ( to me and to anyone who knows the details of my situation) is that I want to do these things with the local church. With the body of Christ where I live. With the people who are part of the denomination that I felt totally let down and hurt by.  That is God at work. I could never have got to this place by myself.

IMG_1560

Life isn’t particularly straightforward right now (is it ever ? for any of us?) but I’m ok. I’m more than ok.

I’m overwhelmed by God’s love and goodness and I am excited by His purposes and His plans.  

I’m hearing His call, and I know that it’s not the same as His call to you, or even to other people in my church, and I may look foolish in my extravagant enthusiasm but He has demonstrated His love and trustworthiness in such intimate and amazing ways over the past two years, that I’m quite happy to look daft and to take risks.

I think it will be exciting and a little like flying, and actually ….I can’t wait.

IMG_0564

I am linking this post with Lisha Epperson and the #givemegrace community ❤ . Click here to read Lisha’s beautiful words and see more from this community. 

I’m also linking it with Leigh Kramer because it’s What I’m into this month 🙂

And last but not least I am linking with #wholemama here because I have loved being part of that community this summer and I don’t want you to miss out on some beautiful words from a wonderful group of women ! 

5 thoughts on “Be excited

  1. Wow, this is fantastic and inspiring! As believers of Christ we will always face judgement and be mocked, buy that just makes me want to sing hallelujah as I know the redemption of Christ and will share the word even if one person listens. I look forward to seeing more of your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So excited to see you back writing again. I’m a reader too. “Wild in the Hollow” is next in my que list for books. I’m so excited for where God is leading you. You should check out the book “Searching for Sunday” by Rachel Held Evans. It’s so so good and I think it fits with where you feel God is leading you!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

