The Art of Celebration: The one where I rebrand myself as Party Girl

As you’ll know if you read this blog life is not straightforward or without some deep sadnesses right now but today we are throwing a BIG party!

Which is why, two weeks ago, I decided to practice Celebration as part of my daily life. I didn’t want to get to today and feel that it was utterly disconnected from the rest of my life.

For two weeks I’ve been building up to this day. Amazingly I am more organized that ever before for a large scale event. Usually I leave everything to the last minute and cram it into a day of crazy preparations with the consequence that I am exhausted before the party starts, and definitely after it finishes.

This time I’ve savoured the preparation. I’ve done it bit by bit. I’ve taken time today to have my hair cut and for us to relax as a family. I think this is part of the Art of Celebration too.

It’s not to be rushed. It’s ongoing. It’s part of every day.

IMG_5353

I have felt a bit of a disconnect threatening my internal spaces – questioning myself about the authenticity of what we are doing. But I realize that most people we will share our party with tonight know at least some, if not all, of the life struggles we’ve had in these past few years – marriage, infidelity, ill health. They know that when we celebrate tonight we are celebrating family as a hard-won achievement, without any certainty as to the future.

IMG_6035

I was reassured when I turned to my bible this morning and found that my set reading for morning prayer was my favourite ‘And Yet’ passage from Habbakuk 3 v 17-19:

“Though the fig-tree does not bud

and there are no grapes on the vines,

though the olive crop fails

and the fields produce no food,

though there are no sheep in the pen

and no cattle in the stalls

yet I will rejoice in the Lord,

I will be joyful in God my Saviour.

The Sovereign Lord is my strength

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer,

He enables me to go to the heights.”

We’re doing what we are supposed to do. We are being joyful in God our saviour.

This morning my hairdresser commented that I was ‘energetic’ today. I am.

I have discovered that the consequence of celebration is that it gives me energy, it helps me to see what life is about, I notice the good in so many things, and I can’t help but feel joy at a deep level. I know that I am loved and known and placed in a world full of good things.

P1020651

I have been linking up with #Wholemama for the past couple of weeks and in answer to a question posed there I think that my superpower is Celebration.

 I am party girl.

IMG_6922

 

And tonight I will be partying hard as I celebrate life and family and the goodness of God.

IMG_5917

4 thoughts on “The Art of Celebration: The one where I rebrand myself as Party Girl

  1. Good Morning. I love the intentional thought you declared to practice the art of celebration! Love especially the ice cream cone pictures, my favorite weakness. The scripture verse touched my heart. I struggle with celebrations, but perhaps I can be intentional about embracing them. Thank you for this beautiful post. Wishing you a peace filled day.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

