The Art of Celebration

In a couple of weeks my family will be celebrating. We have planned a party. We’ve booked the band. The guests are invited and have accepted.

It’s one of our things …. celebrating no matter what. If we wait for everything to be good we will never celebrate, so we get on and plan celebrations right in the thick of the darkness and the difficulty. We decide to celebrate.

IMG_8658

And so yesterday morning when I woke up feeling miserable, failing, weak and tired, I found myself thinking about the choice to celebrate. The choice to praise. The choice to say God is good – Today.

I don’t want to get to our celebration day and have to jump up 1000 levels of happiness in a day (particularly in a day when I will inevitably become a little tired and fraught with the party preparation which I will inevitably leave until the day itself because I am not a ‘do it in advance’ type of girl).  I want to build to it. I want to start celebrating NOW. I want the day of our party to be a climax to my celebrating – not a shiny day of music and laughter in the middle of a blackness.

So how will I do it? No, nothing has changed since the last post I wrote. My child is still very unwell. LIfe is unpredictable and draining. It’s got to be a choice. I’m so glad we have the book of Psalms to show us how this is done. Right in the depths we say all the hard stuff and then we also say, ‘therefore I will praise you’.

Yesterday morning I happened to pick up the Rend Collective album ‘The Art of Celebration’. It’s not an album I’ve listened to much but the picture immediately makes me think it is written for me . I have a thing for swimming in cold water – it has a magnetic pull and happens whether appropriately swimsuited or fully clothed.

IMG_0798

That’s kind of like my celebration. I will do it whether it looks appropriate or not. Whether it makes sense to anyone watching or whether it is unfathomable when set against the backdrop of daily circumstances.

So, I’ve decided that I am going to post something about celebration every day for the next two weeks. If you interact with me on Facebook  or instagram you’ll have seen that I started yesterday. I’m going to use these modern day Psalms from Rend Collective to guide me.

The first song on the album gives beautiful words to what exactly is in my heart right now.

Listen to it. Choose celebration . I’m sorry you can’t all come to the party but you can join me in the celebrating that starts now!

We’re choosing celebration
Breaking into freedom
You’re the song
You’re the song
Of our hearts

We cast aside our shadows
Trust You with our sorrows
You’re the song
You’re the song
Of our hearts

We’re dancing to the rhythm of Your heart
We’re rising from the ashes to the stars

You’re the joy joy joy lighting my soul
The joy joy joy making me whole
Though I’m broken, I am running
Into Your arms of love

The pain will not define us
Joy will reignite us
You’re the song
You’re the song
Of our hearts

The dark is just a canvas
For Your grace and brightness
You’re the song
You’re the song
Of our hearts

We’re dancing to the rhythm of Your heart
We’re rising from the ashes to the stars

You’re the joy joy joy lighting my soul
The joy joy joy making me whole
Though I’m broken, I am running
Into Your arms of love
[x2]

You’re the joy
The song in my heart
The hope of my soul

In the shadows
In the sorrows
In the desert
When the pain hits
You are constant
Ever-present
You’re the song of my heart
[x2]

You’re the joy joy joy lighting my soul
The joy joy joy making me whole
Though I’m broken, I am running
Into Your arms of love
Into Your arms

Rend Collective – Joy

7 thoughts on “The Art of Celebration

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

