50 Days of Hope: Day 50: All things new

“Therefore, if anyone belongs to Christ he is a new person. 

The old life is gone. A new life has begun.”

 2 Corinthians 5 v 17 

Yesterday I read a post from a blogger called Conflicted Love. She has had an affair and has left it to restore her marriage. In that post she talked about walking out of 2014 and leaving so many things behind her. She has no plans to carry them into 2015.

I know that there is much I need to set down in 2014 and not continue to carry it with me as I step into 2015.  I need to shake the dust of 2014 off my feet and walk into 2015 with my eyes fixed on what lies ahead not what lies behind.

And I’m beginning to realise that my difficulty in letting go is linked to my inability to forgive myself. To believe the reality of that verse above. To accept that I am forgiven and therefore in Christ all things can be made new.

I seem to feel a need to do penance. To walk under a cloud. To feel like an outsider. To be always worrying that I will step over the line again and find myself on the wrong side of God’s love.

A few weeks ago someone had a picture for me as we were praying together. It was less a picture and more a lengthy film clip! It was beautiful and funny. Part of it involved Jesus pursuing me in an attempt to take a rucksack off my back. A rucksack that I didn’t even realise I was carrying. From time to time he’d catch up with me ( I was running) and grab something from inside it and throw it away. Apparently the bag was full of ( excuse the language but it is important) ‘dried lumps of crap’.  He was trying to catch me so that he could take the bag off and we could sit down and talk about forgiveness. I was running hard in pursuit of forgiveness.

I think I may be reaching the point where I stop running and let Jesus catch up with me. I might even set the bag down before He has to take it from me.

I want to walk into 2015 knowing that the old life has gone; a new life has begun.

Thank you for walking through this year with me. I looked for hope and it found and rescued me.  I have been blessed beyond measure by your presence and  I am sure that I will continue to write here, but I intend to pause for a little while at this year end. And so I end my year of Hope with this blessing from Romans 15; 

‘May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.’   Amen.

4 thoughts on “50 Days of Hope: Day 50: All things new

  1. Isle once said something to the effect of this: we aren’t to waste the grace, mercy and forgiveness we have been given by God (& for you, your spouse) by refusing to accept it and living as though all that condemnation was always upon us. It is powerful. Walk tall, forgiven and free into 2015 my friend xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are rooted in His PEACE, GRACE, and LOVE, walk into 2015 sure of that my friend. I’ll miss you while you go dig deeper! Romans 15:13 is one of my life verses and the one God blessed me with in 2002, in the depth of my despair. XOXO

    Like

  3. What a powerful, grace-filled image of the way Jesus wants to release us from all our crap. This has really spoken to me today. Let Him catch us, friend. Please Jesus, catch us and help us leave it all behind in pursuit of the abundance you have promised.

    Like

  4. A life-changing truth I’ve learned to apply is that forgiveness (whether toward self or others) is not a feeling; it’s an act of faith – believing/trusting God that I am forgiven.
    I will miss reading the words from your heart. Thank you for sharing!
    Father God, Thank You for this new year, that we get to live it. Thank You for the Hope You have given Caiobhe over the past 365 days. May You continue to give her Hope, and as You honor her obedience in sharing her story please fill her with the Joy and Peace that come only from You! In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

