50 Days of Hope: Day 48: Limitless potential

‘I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.’ Romans 8 v 18

Did you notice the last two words?  This morning, for the first time, I realised where the glory will be seen. I’ve read that verse so many times and I suppose I have skipped the last words because I’ve  assumed that the future glory Paul is talking about is God’s glory.

But it says that the glory will be revealed in us. You and me. And it won’t be put upon us then. It will be revealed. You can only reveal something which is already there.

You are already glorious. 

You’ll notice that I’ve told you that you are glorious because I can believe that.

I have a much harder time applying this verse to myself. You know, because I have shared it here, that I am not what I am meant to be, nor what I want to be, nor what others may think I am.  The words shared in this space are only a tiny glimpse of all the inglorious thoughts, feelings and actions in my life. I feel like the scribbles of colour at the top of this post. I am not glorious.

But if I believe the truth of the bible, and the promised hope, then I have to accept that there is, right now, glory in me.

My stomach actually contracts as I write those words. I want to cry. I want to push them away.  ‘Not me. I am not glorious. I am a messy, flawed, failing person. I love God but I choose my own path so often. I hurt others. I’m dishonest. I’m bad tempered. I’m …..’ the list goes on.

So these are the words of hope which I need to hold on to today as I reflect on the year that has passed and look to the year to come:

‘Let the love of God be reflected in your love for yourself and others. With God in the equation our potential for good is limitless.’  ( Celtic Daily Prayer, Aidan Readings December 28)

I am glorious. Today.

 

One thought on “50 Days of Hope: Day 48: Limitless potential

  1. Thank you for this great reminder. I needed it today. I don’t feel very glorious, but I know that Christ is in me and He makes me glorious. So in spite of the fact that I’m not feeling well today I can still let glory shine even if it’s just in my attitude. You are such a blessing and encouragement. Thank you for being vulnerable and sharing your life. It encourages others.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

