50 Days of Hope: Day 40: Follow the light

The Kings who came to worship at the manger weren’t told what to do or where to go by an angel. They had no direct word from God.

They took notice of the things around them. They kept an open mind. They followed the light.

They did what they were supposed to do in the world and it led them to Jesus.

These words were spoken at a service I recently attended.

Just sit with them. Let them seep into your soul.

‘Wait patiently for the Lord’. Psalm 40

IMG_8108

On this 4th Sunday of Advent, as everyone around seems to be getting busier and busier I am trying to slow down to notice what is around me. To see God in the ordinary. To look to the lights and let them lead me. To wait patiently.

I’m trying to pay attention to the nudges and allow the Spirit to whisper as the ordinary shows me the Father’s heart.

And already I’m hearing him. In the process of helping a child clear out her bedroom, as I watched her choose what to keep and what to let go of; what items hold memories that matter and what can’t be set completely aside yet, but can be tucked away out of sight to be reviewed in a year, I know that I am being asked to do the same.

As I go about doing what it is I am supposed to do in the world, which for the next weeks of holiday means spending time without working and with my family, I need to remain open to noticing things and following the light.

IMG_8071

This feels possible. This Jesus wants me to find Him as I live the ordinary. As I live the life I’ve been given. As I work my way through a season full of difficult memories mixed with great joy.

Will you join me in this quietening ? The Kings were with each other. We don’t travel alone and I hope that you will share your encouragements with me as you see God in the ordinary. To that end I am linking with Lisha Epperson and the #givemegrace community today . I am not alone. You are not alone. We are grace-seekers together.

FullSizeRender

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

