50 Days of Hope : Day 37 : Tell it like it is

Today I received a Christmas card from a work colleague and friend.

It didn’t have in it the usual Christmas greeting instead it gave a brief summary of her perspective on my past year,

“2014 was a (lot/bit) shit, it was (bloody) hard and you took (many) blows”

It then had a huge BUT and she listed a number of really good things that are also my reality.

Reading it is not unlike reading the Psalms or Lamentations. This is what real life looks like. It isn’t pretty and sparkly. Sometimes it can only be described using expletives. BUT that changes nothing at all about who God is,  how much He loves us, and what He has done for us and promises for the future.

I read Lamentations 3 v 35 -37 this morning. It really tells the same story of my life as the words in the Christmas card,

“I called on your name O Lord from the depths of the pit. 

You heard my plea, “Do not close your ears to my cry for relief”. 

You came near when I called you and you said, “Do not fear.” 

So if you are in the pit, even if it is so deep all you can see is darkness, keep calling on God . Your story will have a BUT .  It may not be for a while, and it may not be rescue in the way that you are hoping for, ( a year ago I didn’t want my rescue to involve staying married),  but it will come.  If you can’t hold on to Hope for yourself today, I am holding on to it for you.

One thought on “50 Days of Hope : Day 37 : Tell it like it is

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

