50 Days of Hope: Day 29 : Don’t miss the hearts, don’t miss the love

I have loved you with an everlasting love ; that is why I have stayed faithful to you’

Jeremiah 31 v 3 

IMG_7876

Very often I write my blog in real time. I think, I write, I post. And this morning about 5 minutes ago as I was about to take my first sip of this drink, distracted by emails and a to- do- list, I nearly missed the art on top of the foam.

I almost missed the heart.

I almost missed the love.

Noticing it changed my moment. It made me smile. It reminded me that I am loved.

And I realised that even in this season of Advent we can forget that we are loved with an everlasting love and that is why God is faithful. He is not faithful because of our doings, or our love for him. We don’t determine God’s faithfulness by our actions. It’s all Him.

As we draw towards the end of the year it is natural that we think back over what the previous 12 months have held for us. The mistakes made, the lives celebrated, the growing and changing of ourselves and others. This morning that was bringing me on something of a downward trajectory, but I was forgetting about the one thing that hasn’t changed all year, and won’t change next year. And that is God’s love for me and his faithfulness to me. If you’ve read my 31 day series you will know that a year ago I was in darkness, and God has brought me into light. Yet even with the amazing working of God in my life over the past year I forget that He loves me.

So today, don’t miss the hearts; don’t miss the love.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

