50 Days of Hope: Day 24: Finding your meadow

 

 

IMG_4912

Psalm 23 The Message (MSG)

A David Psalm

1-3 God, my shepherd!
I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
you find me quiet pools to drink from.

I’ve known this Psalm since I was a child, but it has taken on new layers of meaning in recent times. I’ve read it in new ways, perhaps because I’ve really been allowing God to shepherd me in a way that I haven’t before.

Lush meadows and quiet pools. We need those.  I’m at a quiet pool today, and I know I’m at a quiet pool because the clamouring noises have faded, and even when the emails arrive which would normally cause increased heart rate and a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach, I can breathe normally and think about the content and my response.

It would be really easy for me to be at this place and not realise, and not thank God for bringing me here. It would be easy not to realise, because in fact my lush meadow and quiet pool is a completely absorbing work project. For me, the chance to spend time focusing on my work in an intense way is what gives rest to my emotions and my heart. I need that, and God knows that I need that. A lush meadow and quiet pool will be different for each of us, and I think the psalmist is describing a place, whether physical or emotional, where we have the nourishment and rehydration that we need.

Today I hope that you notice the lush meadows and quiet places as you pass through them. Remember to stop and take a drink.

 

 

 

One thought on “50 Days of Hope: Day 24: Finding your meadow

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

