50 Days of Hope: Day 23 : near to the broken hearted

photo-2 copy

This was sent to me by an unknown sister in Christ earlier this year. It arrived unexpectedly in the post on a day when I desperately needed to know that I was seen and loved. I’ve written about it here, and here and for me, it was an amazing example of God’s deep and intimate love.

Today I have come back to that verse from Psalm 34

‘The Lord is near to the broken hearted. He heals them and binds up their wounds.’ 

I need it to be true for some people in my life who are broken hearted. And I know it has proved to be true in my own life, but I have real difficulty believing that God will come through for others. I don’t know why that is, but fortunately God is not limited by my belief in his power.

What I can say is that the Lord has been near to me, and I was so broken hearted. He has healed me and he has tended my wounds. They are not all healed yet, but they are healing. I know this verse is true. It has been my lived experience, even when I had no belief in the truth of the words.

God’s truth is still true even when we can’t believe it. That is hope.

2 thoughts on “50 Days of Hope: Day 23 : near to the broken hearted

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

