50 Days of Hope: Day 17 – So obvious I missed it

Psalm 43:5 ‘Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me?  Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.’

Sometimes the point is so obvious that I miss it entirely.

Where should I place my hope ? 

In God. 

Am I feeling miserable and confused ? 

Yes. 

Might that be because I think that my healing, my restoration, will be brought about by actions that other people would (in an ideal world) perform ? 

Yes. 

I met with a friend yesterday who talked to me about letting go. Of unhooking the things that hold me. Of loosening my grasp on things I shouldn’t cling to. I couldn’t meet his eyes. He knew. He knew that I was still hoping that other people would do things that would heal some of the hurts of this past season.

This morning as I read my bible and read of God’s rescue of his people, time and time again, I realised that other people do not have the capacity to heal us or release us. It may not be that they don’t want to, simply that they can’t. I know that I can’t do that for others, no matter how much I might want to. So if I am waiting for that to happen I will be living in a perpetual state of unsatisfied need.

It was a relief to realise that. I no longer need to vex myself with the question of whether people do or don’t want to help me. Whether they do or don’t understand. Whether they do or don’t take responsibility for their actions. Even if the answer to all of those questions is the positive, it will not necessarily lead to any better outcome for me.

For all my talk of hope I hadn’t noticed that I was still looking for it in the wrong place.

So today I read the Psalmists words and once again fix my eyes on Jesus and place my hope in God alone.

2 thoughts on “50 Days of Hope: Day 17 – So obvious I missed it

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

