50 Days of Hope, Day 16 : Living the questions

‘How priceless is your unfailing love ‘ Psalm 36 v 7

‘The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock.’ Matthew 7 v 25 

‘Who is it that you seek?

we seek the Lord our God.

Do you seek Him with all your heart? 

Amen. Lord, have mercy.

Do you seek Him with all your soul?

Amen. Lord have mercy.

Do you seek Him with all your mind? 

Amen. Lord have mercy.

Do you seek Him with all your strength? 

Amen. Christ, have mercy.’ Daily Office: Morning Prayer 

I read all of these verses and prayers this morning. The rain is falling, the storms are beating the house, but the foundation is the rock. I know that God’s love is unfailing, and in that I have hope. Circumstances are taking a toll – I cried about a parking ticket this morning, but it wasn’t about the parking ticket. It was about the unfairness of life, and the pain of others, and the cost of doing the right thing.

IMG_4320

And as I came to my Morning Prayer, I realised that when I read those questions every morning I put the emphasis on the wrong place. Usually when written,  the responses, and not the questions, are highlighted in bold, making the responses seem more important than the question. I’ve changed the highlighting above, because the question repeated is about who I seek. Do I seek HIM ? with all my heart, soul, mind and strength. The importance is not about how I do it, but who I am seeking. I’ve been seeking peace and freedom from anxiety. I’ve been seeking justice and healing. I’ve been seeking restoration and forgiveness. All of these are good and of God, but they are not what I should seek. I should seek God. God in all His unknowable, unfathomable, incredible, extraordinary, God-ness. By only seeking specific things which I can understand and define and request, I am limiting the God who created the Universe. Maybe peace, justice and healing aren’t going to be mine in this life, and if they are all I seek I will be dissatisfied.

But if I seek God, I will find Him. I know that already.

Today I am going to live the questions. The answers can wait for another day.

5 thoughts on “50 Days of Hope, Day 16 : Living the questions

    1. Thank you Tara – I appreciate your encouragement . I hope that you had a very Happy Thanksgiving . I’m in the UK but planning some thankfulness activities with my family this weekend, inspired by American traditions 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

