Day 9: In the day and the night

When we married we chose three hymns for our wedding service. One of them was the traditional Irish hymn, Be Thou my Vision. I couldn’t have anticipated how its words would stand as a declaration of faith throughout my marriage. Today I’m sharing it as my verse of hope.

This morning it came to my mind when I woke from sleep.

I’ve had trouble with dreams over the past 15 months. I can’t control them, and they have been hard. Sometimes I feel like my waking hours are taking place in the presence of God, but my sleeping hours are something else. I developed a habit of going to bed really, really late because I was scared of bad dreams. It’s a horrible place to be.

Last night I had a dream which made me realise that even my subconscious has experienced the shift I wrote about almost a week ago. The dream itself wasn’t a happy, or particularly enjoyable dream, but what it showed me made me waken excited. God is working in all of me. My conscious and my subconscious.

Today I leave with you the words of the first verse of the hymn:

“Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art
Thou my best Thought, by day or by night,
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.”

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Day 9: In the day and the night

    1. Jamie yes – it is huge. I seem to be experiencing huge change on a daily basis – and I am so grateful. this weekend we plan to have a thankfulness meal as a family – there is a lot to be thankful for 🙂

      Like

  1. Reading this made me realise that I used to dread sleep too, because it felt like I’d spend all night looking for my other in my dreams. I hadn’t noticed that I don’t have that level of anxiety any more. I must be letting go. It’s both a sadness and a relief.

    Like

    1. I’m glad the anxiety level is dropping. It will go in waves. Enjoy the relief while it’s there. and don’t be panicked if it returns. It’s going to be a long process and you just will be where you will be each day, and night.

      Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

