Day 1: 50 Days of Hope – The Lord is my Portion

Today is the beginning of a new series on the blog. For the rest of the year, I will write each day about a bible verse of hope. Hope has been my word for the year, and it has been an extraordinary experience to be carried through the year by a single word! In this series I will endeavour to share what I have learned of the depth and breadth and richness and life giving nature of Hope. 

 

“ The Lord is my portion says my soul, therefore I will hope in him.” 

Lamentations 3 verse 24 

I love that this comes from a book called Lamentations. The writer isn’t just a bit down; the writer is lamenting.

And yet……

If we take the verse in the wrong order, the writer will hope in the Lord. I suppose that means will trust Him for the future; for everything. Will believe that He will deliver the writer from the difficulties He is experiencing, will lift him from the sorrow.

Why? Why has this writer decided to hope in the Lord?

It is because the Lord has been his portion. Portion, like a food portion. We eat a meal and it satisfies us. I love food, and when I eat I am satisfied not just through calories and the gaining of energy, but I enjoy taste and texture, smell and even the way the food looks. My body is nourished through my eating, and all the parts of it draw what they need from the nutrients in the food.

I love how the writer listens to his soul. That deepest, most essential part of self. The consciousness that sets us apart from all other creatures and allows us to experience thought and the divine.

His soul has found that the Lord satisfies. The Lord nourishes. The Lord gives life and energy. The portion given is so complete that the soul, that complex and utterly unique part of each human, is fed.

I have found in these past months, that the Lord is my portion. In the most extraordinary ways He has fed and nourished me. Not just with bland, uninteresting food, but with things that meet all the sensory and human needs I have. It’s like having your own private chef who knows you so well that every meal on every occasion is just what you need and want, and sometimes you haven’t even realised that those are the things you need and want.

Today I pray that you too will experience the Lord’s sufficiency and love, and you will find yourself able to hope in Him alone.

14 thoughts on “Day 1: 50 Days of Hope – The Lord is my Portion

  1. Oh I love this so much! The Lord is my portion. These are words that I have repeated to myself over and over throughout the years. He satisfies, and He is enough. Just saying it fills my heart with a sense of peace. So excited for your new series!

    Like

  2. This series is just what I need as we wrap up the year. I’m praying that God would help me be satisfied with him as my portion and not seek elsewhere for something that, in the end, does not satisfy.

    Like

    1. Claygirl, (not being self-promoting) I do hope you read my blog last month when I wrote about my sister and the Lord being her Portion. I think it would minister to you. xoxo Caiob, hope you don’t mind me saying this to Clay…here is comments.

      Like

  3. I ran across a quote by Corrie Ten Boom the other day, ” If it’s dark everywhere, you can become so discouraged. You might doubt whether light still exists. But even if you can’t see the Lord, He sees you and me. Jesus said ‘And surely I am with you always, even to the very end of the age.’When it’s necessary, He suddenly says, ‘I’m still here!'”

    Like

  4. God is my portion and my strength. Oh so true! God does fulfill our every need. And God knows what we need even before we do. I am looking forward to this series.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

