This is my truth, tell me yours

This past month has been spent in the presence of truth. Truth in the inmost places. Truth spoken and written and lived.

The Manic Street Preachers album title ‘ This is my truth, tell me yours’,  suggests that truth is subjective. I understand what they mean, and we must always be aware that in most situations we give the truth as we see it from our perspective. And my perspective may not be your perspective.

However there are times when I do think there is absolute truth. Irrefutable truth. It can’t be changed or viewed from another angle to soften the lines or change the colours. I know absolute truth because it is uncomfortable. It doesn’t make me feel easy or ‘right’. It doesn’t set me above anyone else. It isn’t always something I want to own.

In those seasons I know that truth is a person. Truth is Jesus. He declared his identity in terms of  truth, ‘I am the way, the truth and the life’.

He also said ‘The truth will set you free’. I’m holding that promise. I don’t have to hold truth. Somehow it holds me. Since I opened my eyes to it and stopped trying to change the angle I am compelled by truth.

I don’t know where truth will lead me, but I do know that I am travelling in the very best company.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

