The Story Matters

The story matters because all our stories matter.

Because life consists of our stories, and if I listen to yours and you listen to mine we are the better for it.

The story matters because I matter, and you matter.

The story matters because untold stories don’t sit comfortably inside us.

They squirm and devour; become polluting and disabling.

The story matters because a story that is told is like a bird released from a cage.

It flies and lifts and maybe disappears from view completely, or hovers just above you.

It is much better out of the cage than trapped inside.

The story matters because it demands to be released. Truth demands to be told.

The truth will set you free.

You will be free indeed.

The story matters because maybe my story has similarities with your story?

Maybe you think that no one else has a story as painful, or sad or difficult or shaming as your story?

If I share my story then you will know that you are not alone.

I will know that I am not alone.

The story matters because sometimes it’s not the story we thought it was.

Maybe I think it’s a story about me, but you you can see that  it’s all about someone else’s actions and choices

and that I had no power or choice in my story.

The story matters because it’s all God’s story.

It’s God’s story of how he has come close to me.

How I have been loved and protected and held.

How I have been the prodigal and He has held his arms open for me to run into.

The story will always matter.

 

once again I am prompted to write by the wonderful Marvia Davidson’s Real Talk Tuesday prompt, and once again I am not writing on a Tuesday 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Story Matters

  1. Love this! “The story matters because a story that is told is like a bird released from a cage.
    It flies and lifts and maybe disappears from view completely, or hovers just above you.
    It is much better out of the cage than trapped inside.
    The story matters because it demands to be released. Truth demands to be told.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So much yes to the sweet redemption in your words. My favorite lines were these: “The story matters because it’s all God’s story. It’s God’s story of how he has come close to me.” That’s the intimate, relentless love of God awakening the soul. I loved reading that! Thank you for participating this week. You are strong and so brave!

    Like

  3. “The story matters because I matter, and you matter.” Yes we all matter very much. I love this: “It’s God’s story of how he has come close to me.How I have been loved and protected and held.” He is always with us and always forgives and welcomes us with open arms. He is our Abba.

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

