When I was tired, you held my arms

In Exodus 18 Moses had to hold his arms up so that the Israelites would have victory in battle. When he grew tired, others came alongside, and held up his arms for him. The Israelites saw victory.

Today and for the last few days I’ve been holding my arms up. Outstretched and claiming victory. But today they grew tired. And I am so grateful that those I alerted to my weariness in the battle came beside me and held up my arms. They prayed and they turned me to God’s word.

Life giving, comforting, encouraging, strengthening words.

Tonight I have few words in me.  So images and God’s words are what I want to share.

May they strengthen you too.

May they hold up your arms.

May they enable you to stand your ground.

May they give you peace.

Image

You broaden the path beneath me so that my ankles do not turn over

2 Samuel 22:37

Image

The Lord watches over you. The Lord is your shade at your right hand;

the sun will not harm you by day nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all harm – he will watch over your life. 

Psalm 121 v 5-7

 

 

Image

 

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,

for his compassions never fail.

They are new every morning;

great is your faithfulness.

I say to myself

The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him

The Lord is good to those who hope in him,

to the one who seeks him;

it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.

Lamentations 3:22-26

3 thoughts on “When I was tired, you held my arms

  1. “And I am so grateful that those I alerted to my weariness in the battle came beside me and held up my arms. They prayed and they turned me to God’s word.” It’s beautiful, isn’t it, when we share our vulnerabilities with others, how they rally around us and support us when we cant? I love that you have that support. Sharing our vulnerabilities is almost easier and becoming more accepted {at least in my world, is it in yours?} than sharing our successes. Something to ponder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this - reply in this box

